ASSOCIATED STUDENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF HAWAI'I AT MĀNOA 2465 Campus Road, Campus Center 211A Honolulu, HI 96822

Senate Resolution 19-17

IN SUPPORT OF A STUDENT U-PASS FEE FOR FALL 2017-SPRING 2019

BE IT ENACTED BY THE UNDERGRADUATE SENATE:

results of the survey; and,

·	
WHEREAS,	the Associated Students of the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa (ASUH) Senate is the elected body representing approximately 11,000 full-time classified undergraduate students; and,
WHEREAS,	over 17,000 students currently attend the University of Hawai'i at Mānoa (UHM) and there are 3,300 lower campus stalls available for parking, yielding a ratio of approximately 5:1 students to stalls; and,
WHEREAS,	Section 13-2.1 (j) of the Revised Ordinances of Honolulu 1990, as amended, authorizes the City and County of Honolulu (City) to enter into an agreement with colleges and universities for a public transportation pass program; and,
WHEREAS,	in 2009, the ASUH in conjunction with the City agreed to implement such a program that allows students to ride TheBus for an equitable, reasonable, and fiscally prudent fare rate; and,
WHEREAS,	the 2-year U-PASS pilot program began in Fall 2010 as a mandatory, semesterly fee of \$20 issued to all UHM full-time undergraduate and graduate students, excluding those enrolled in the John A. Burns School of Medicine, William S. Richardson School of Law, and Outreach College; and,
WHEREAS,	due to the success of its initial iteration, the U-PASS program has been renewed on a regular basis since Fall 2012; and,
WHEREAS,	the most recent Memorandum of Agreement, which was approved in Spring 2015 and became effective in Fall 2015, mandates a \$50 semesterly fee per student; and,
WHEREAS,	in a survey conducted by the ASUH in Fall 2016, 72% of respondents stated that they utilize TheBus as a means of transportation, and 74% were in favor of renewing the U-PASS contract with the City; and,
WHEREAS,	in the Fall 2016 semester, 11,435 students picked up their U-PASSes, and, as of April 19, 2017, 9,118 students have picked up their U-PASSes; and,
WHEREAS,	due to time-constraints, Senator Nicholas Ishii, the Chairperson of the ASUH Committee on Student Affairs, requested a status quo extension of the pass to allow time for discussion to solidify a longer term agreement in concert with the

WHEREAS, on April 4, 2017, City representatives tentatively agreed to the request and drafted

an updated Memorandum of Agreement, effective Fall 2017 through Spring 2019, extending the U-PASS program as well as the current rate of \$50 a semester for

the duration of the agreement; and,

WHEREAS, data collected from the survey suggests that this proposed fee schedule is in line

with how much current students are willing to pay per semester; and,

WHEREAS, data from the survey also suggests that students who do not use the U-PASS are

still willing to contribute to the continuation of the program, indicating support

for the U-PASS; and,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the ASUH firmly supports the extension of the U-PASS program, which

would set the fee to \$50.00 for the Fall 2017 through Spring 2019 semesters and

continue to allow students unlimited access to The Bus; and,

BE IT RESOLVED, that the ASUH Committee on Student Affairs shall continue working with City

representatives to negotiate a three to five year agreement to begin following this

two-year extension in accordance with Fall 2016 U-PASS survey data; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the ASUH hopes the success of the U-PASS program will

continue for many years to come, as it provides students an

affordable and sustainable means of transportation to and from UH

Mānoa; and,

NOW THEREFORE BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that copies of this resolution shall be sent to the University of Hawai i Board of Regents, President and Interim Chancellor David Lassner, Vice Chancellor for Administration, Finance, & Operations Kathy Cutshaw, Interim Vice Chancellor for Students Lori Ideta, the UH Mānoa Graduate Student Organization, Honolulu City Mayor Kirk Caldwell, Honolulu City Council Chair Ron Menor, Honolulu City Council Transportation Committee Chairperson Ikaika Anderson, the City & County of Honolulu Department of Transportation Services, the Ka Leo O Hawai i, and the University of Hawai i Student Caucus.

ROLL CALL VOTE TO SPECIAL ORDER SR 19-17

Aye(s): Interim Treasurer Chen, Secretary Nishihara, Senators-at-Large Enriquez, Urasaki, Willis, Senators Arenivas, Chen, Chun, Crollard, Delos Reyes, Finau, Fong, Ho, Honda, Ishii, Klinestiver, Lao, Lee, Leval, Negrillo, Sakamoto, Takagi, Utashiro, Wang, Yamada [25]

Naye(s): [0]

Abstention(s): [0]

ROLL CALL VOTE TO ACCEPT SR 19-17 WITH AMENDMENTS

Aye(s): Interim Treasurer Chen, Secretary Nishihara, Senators-at-Large Enriquez, Urasaki, Willis, Senators Arenivas, Chen, Chun, Crollard, Delos Reyes, Finau, Fong, Ho, Honda, Ishii, Klinestiver, Lao, Lee, Leval, Negrillo, Pang, Sakamoto, Takagi, Utashiro, Wang, Yamada [26]

Naye(s): [0]

Abstention(s): [0]

Introducers: Nicholas Ishii, Senator, Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Chairperson, Committee on Student

Affairs; Eugene Lao, Senator, Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Chairperson, Committee on Student Affairs; Jannah Lyn Dela Cruz, Vice President; David Enriquez, Senator-at-Large, Chairperson, Committee on External Affairs; Adora Klinestiver, Senator, Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Vice Chairperson, Committee on Student Affairs